06/Jan/2022

The point of customization is not that you have it only for the sake of having it, it's that it makes so you are less dependent of the developer to get to a configuration you like, as it's almost impossible for more than one person agree 100% on something

Honestly for most people, if they find a program that is by default already exactly how they like, they'd not mind it not being customizable at all. which is basically impossible unless the only user is the developer themselves

dumb specific example

I like my phone virtual keyboards with a number row always visible, if some keyboard app has the number row on by default I honestly wouldn't mind if there isn't any option to toggle it. But most keyboards default to hiding the number row, so I'm dependent on they having the customization option to toggle it to get to the configuration I like